

Brought to you by the team at Access Point Public Affairs, LLC

## **Overview of the Political Landscape and Leadership Post-Election**

(December 15, 2023) In the recent election held on November 7th, all 140 seats of the Virginia General Assembly were on the ballot. The outcomes reflect a dynamic shift in the political landscape, with Democrats maintaining a 21-19 majority in the Senate. In the House of Delegates, Democrats secured the majority with a 51-49 margin, marking a notable change in the balance of power within the legislative body.

Change in the legislature was to be expected, driven by a range of factors such as the 2021 redistricting, retirements, primary losses, and members transitioning to different bodies within the General Assembly. In the Senate, 15 out of the 40 members will not be returning in January, and in the House of Delegates, 32 out of the 100 members are also not returning.

While the departures signal a loss of experienced voices, they also present an opportunity for fresh perspectives. As we bid farewell to seasoned legislators, we recognize the wealth of institutional knowledge they take with them. However, our focus is on embracing this transition and leveraging the diversity of thought that new members bring to the table.

With new majorities in each body, comes new leadership. Below you will find information regarding incoming leadership and committee chairs in each legislative body.

## **SENATE OF VIRGINIA**

The Senate Democratic Caucus announced that Sen. Scott Surovell was elected Senate Majority Leader, Sen. Mamie Locke was elected to serve as the Caucus Chair, Sen. Adam Ebbin was elected to serve as the Caucus Vice Chair, and Senators Barbara Favola and Lamont Bagby were elected to serve as Co-Majority Whips.

The Senate Republican Caucus announced that Sen. Ryan McDougle (a member of the Greater Williamsburg Delegation) was elected Senate Minority Leader, Sen. Mark Obenshain was elected to serve as Caucus Chair, and Senators Bill Stanley and Bryce Reeves were elected to serve as Co-Minority Whips.

The Senate Democratic Caucus announced their standing committee chairs:

- Chair of Agriculture, Conservation and Natural Resources: Sen. Dave Marsden
- Chair of Commerce and Labor: Sen. Creigh Deeds
- Chair of Education and Health Sen. Ghazala Hashmi
- Chair of Finance and Appropriations: Sen. Louise Lucas
- Chair of General Laws and Technology: Sen. Adam Ebbin
- Chair of Judiciary: Sen. Scott Surovell
- Chair of Local Government: Sen. Jeremy McPike
- Chair of Privileges and Elections: Sen. Aaron Rouse
- Chair of Rehabilitation and Social Services: Sen. Barbara Favola

Prepared by the team at Access Point Public Affairs, LLC.

- Chair of Rules: Sen. Mamie Locke
- Chair of Transportation: Sen. Jennifer Boysko

## HOUSE OF DELEGATES

The House Democratic Caucus announced that Del. Don Scott was named House Speaker-Designee, Del. Charniele Herring was selected to serve as House Majority Leader, and Del. Kathy Tran was voted to serve as the new Caucus Chair.

The House Republican Caucus announced that Del. Todd Gilbert was elected House Minority Leader, Del. Amanda Batten, a member of the Greater Williamsburg Delegation, was re-elected Caucus Chair, and Del. Michael Webert was re-elected to serve as the Minority Whip. Most recently, Del. Gilbert appointed Del. Israel O'Quinn to be Deputy Republican Leader.

The House Democratic Caucus also announced some of their standing committee chairs:

- Chair of Appropriations: Del. Luke Torian
- Chair of Health and Human Services: Del. Mark Sickles
- Chair of Labor and Commerce: Del. Jeion Ward
- Chair of Finance: Del. Vivian Watts
- Chair of Courts of Justice: Del. Patrick Hope
- Chair of Education: Del. Sam Rasoul
- Chair of Privileges and Elections: Del. Marcia Price
- Chair of Public Safety: Del. Marcus Simon
- Chair of Communications, Technology and Innovation: Del. Cliff Hayes
- Chair of Agriculture, Chesapeake, and Natural Resources: Del. Alfonso Lopez
- Chair of General Laws: Del. David Bulova
- Chair of Counties, Cities, and Towns: Del. Candi Mundon King
- Chair of Transportation: Del. Karrie Delaney

Del. Scott has most recently appointed Del. Alfonso Lopez to chair Agriculture, Chesapeake, and Natural Resources, Del. David Bulova to chair General Laws, Del. Candi Mundon King to chair Counties, Cities, and Towns, and Del. Karrie Delaney to chair Transportation Committees.

The chairs for the Public Safety and Rules Committees have yet to be announced.